Additional Reviews


 

 

Erika Holbein

Rating:  ✭✭✭✭✭

I had my first Consultation with Dr. Orris and could not be more ready for this journey. The staff at WLIA has made this decision very easy to make. The finance people really help with budgeting and the nutritionist is very helpful in preparing me for what to expect. I would definitely recommend the Weight Loss Institute of Arizona to anyone who is considering weight loss surgery. They answered all of my questions thoroughly and will do the same for you.

June 25, 2014


Catch Kathy

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

So I have been seeing Dr. DeBarros at WLIAZ for about 4 months working on presurgical weight loss. It’s been up and down but Dr. DeBarros is a straight shooter. I appreciate his honesty on frankness. I love that there are multiple locations.


Calimomof3

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

I saw Dr. Orris for the first time today and I was extremely impressed. He answered all of my questions, showed me exactly where the incisions would be, and explained the procedure to me, making me feel comfortable with the decision that I have made. All of his staff were friendly and very knowledgeable. 

April 28, 2014


Malarysz

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

My entire life I struggled with obesity. I had low energy and was tinkering with the onset of diabetes and high blood pressure. I knew at the age of 22 that if I did not make a decision to change my life, I would forever be a prisoner to my weight. On March 13, 2008, I had the lap band surgery performed by Dr. Orris and Dr. Debarros. I have since had a successful pregnancy. I eat in moderation and exercise daily. If it had not been for this surgery, I do not know if I could realistically have lost my weight. I am most grateful to the staff and doctors at WLIA. This by far was the best decision of my life!!

April 21, 2014


Cristinefaux

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

Dr. De Barros, is a very caring and professional Dr. He’s funny but also down to earth and lets you know what is expected of you. He also doesn’t mind answering any questions.

Thanks, Tina 

March 31, 2014


SessieStuLu

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

I have been going to WLIA since April 2013 and had my LapBand Surgery on 10/24/13. So far I have been successful with my weight loss and will continue to be successful thanks to the support of Dr. DeBarros and the WLIA staff! I would recommend WLIA to anyone that is looking to start a new chapter of their life with bariatric surgery.

March 31, 2014


Arieljenny

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

I was hesitant to have weight loss surgery. I thought the process would be too difficult to complete but with the help of WLIA, it was very simple. Dr. Orris and dietitian Mike were great at making sure I understood everything and that I would be successful with the lap-band.

March 17, 2014


Joanieface

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

After hearing Dr. DeBarros and Dr. Orris talk about the WLIAZ program, I was excited to start my journey. I am taking their advice and learning every day how having surgery will change my life for the better! Thank you!

March 15, 2014


Msladygemini

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

Dr. Debarros will be doing my surgery later this year. I have found have a great office team with a support system available including Mike a nutritionist. I am very excited to be on this road with a great team.

March 12, 2014


Flospil

Rating: ✭✭✭✭✭

I met Dr. DeBarros at the beginning of 2006 and was very impressed with him from day one. He put me at ease about what I was getting myself into. He answered my every question with wisdom and professionalism. He made me feel confident in him as a surgeon who knew what he was doing. So I took the necessary steps to change my health and quality of life by following his instructions and having the Lap-Band surgery which has made a tremendous difference for me and my family. WLIA program has a good working staff that has changed several times since I have been going. But they do offer an all-inclusive program; before and aftercare, a support group that helps you for three years. However, the doctors; in my opinion, are what makes this a good program because they really talk to you and answer your questions. I actually drive over two hundred miles R/T to get to this program which is the down side for me. But I was happy my surgery went well, and my recovery was exceptional. That’s not bad for a young woman (60 yr old), and I can’t express how wonderful I feel today after one year. Remembering the surgery; Dr. DeBarros visited me and put me at ease before and after the surgery. I can’t say enough good things about him and WLIA. I rate him a 9.8 on a scale of 10 being the best. I truly love my Dr. DeBarros for his honesty, integrity, professionalism, surgical competency and also being a truly caring person.

August 16, 2007


Julie P.

Rating:  ✭✭✭✭✭

Dr. Orris and DeBarros are GREAT! I am thrilled with my surgery and LOVE Mike the dietician. The office staff is quite incapable of running the office smooth but I assume the docs will get that handled quickly. I would highly recommend the docs if you can deal with the long waits in the office.

July 26, 2007


JBSinAz

Rating:  ✭✭✭✭✭ 

My first impression of my Dr was he was very knowledgeable and very nice. My impression has not changed. His staff is also very knowledgeable, nice and very helpful. Dr. Orris and Dr. DeBarros are GREAT Dr’s. The aftercare is Awsome!!! They follow you for 3 years. The Dr did explain the risks but said they were minimal. I would rate the Dr’s and staff on a scale of 1-10 a 20!!!

June 21, 2007


MaggieMoo2

Rating:  ✭✭✭✭✭

I am 10 weeks post op and after numerous visits to the doctor's office, the surgery, 2 fills down, I can say with certainty that these are WONDERFUL doctors. Each visit I have a barrage of questions and the doctors and/or staff answer each one. Dr. DeBarros and Dr. Orris perform 2 surgeon series, which was my decision maker. My surgery was a great success, and my incisions are beautiful! I had questions during my recovery and I received prompt responses and proper guidance. The office IS PROFESSIONAL. I have felt at ease and informed through this entire procedure. I love the support groups and Mike the dietician. Dr. Debarros had the lap band 1 week before I did and I feel that it gives him and \”insider\” view to the surgery, recovery and life changes that are part of WLS. WLS isn’t just a surgery it is a total life change and the surgery is just the first step. Be sure to choose a facility that will address you throughout the process. I did much research in choosing my WLS doctors and I so glad I choose Dr. DeBarros and Dr. Orris.

April 16, 2007

Free Seminars

Visit one of our FREE Seminars to learn more about the LAP-BAND®, sleeve gastrectomy as well as other surgical weight loss procedures. Our friendly staff will be with you every step of the way.

View Full Schedule

 

Can’t Join Us In Person?

Watch this video seminar to learn why Tempe, Phoenix, and Tucson weight loss patients turn to Weight Loss Institute of Arizona. You’ll hear from team members, learn risks and benefits of weight loss surgery, and discover how we’ll support you throughout the treatment process.

Watch Online

 

Our Locations

Choose your preferred location

*The testimonials, statements, and opinions presented on our website are only applicable to the individuals depicted, and may not be representative of the experience of others. The testimonials are not indicative of future results or success of any other individuals. Weight Loss Institute of Arizona’s impendent practitioner affiliates cannot and do not guarantee the medical outcome or the results of individuals utilizing the services provided by Weight Loss Institutes of Arizona practitioners. The testimonials and endorsements found on the site for the benefit of the site or individual services or procedures are, to the best of our knowledge, the true statements and beliefs of the individuals providing them. These are the opinions of the patients and do not necessarily reflect the views of WLIAZ. In short, surgery involves risk, results vary from patient to patient, and outcomes are not guaranteed.

Weight Loss Institute of Arizona is a marketing and administrative firm. Our surgeons are independent physicians engaged in the private practice of medicine. WLIAZ.com does not provide medical or any other health care or fitness advice, diagnosis, or treatment. The site and its services, including all content contained on this site, are for informational purposes only and are not intended to be a substitute for professional medical or health advice, examination, diagnosis, or treatment. Always seek the advice of your physician or other qualified health professional before starting any new treatment, making any changes to existing treatment, or altering in any way your current exercise or diet regimen. Never delay seeking or disregard medical advice based on information you have read on this site. Medical information changes rapidly and reliance on any information provided by WLIAZ.com is done solely at your own risk.

Weight Loss Institute of Arizona surgeons are independent practitioners and members of our provider network. Please refer to individual surgeon biographies for more information about them and MBSAQIP Accredited designation.

Some pages of this website may feature images of a paid model or actor.

Product names may be mentioned in testimonials or elsewhere, and are trademarks or registered trademarks of their respective holders. Please refer to our Terms and Risks of Surgery pages for more information.